Source: Georgia Farm Bureau

David Stafford of Murray County took the top prize in the non-irrigated high yield and production efficiency category of the 2010 Georgia Corn Yield Contest, sponsored by the Georgia Corn Growers Association. Stafford produced 216.8 bushels per acre of Anderson's SX 723 variety at a cost of 80 cents per bushel, claiming the $400 overall top prize.

Kevin Cobb of Jefferson County won in the irrigated high yield category, producing 283.1 bushels per acre of the Pioneer 2023 variety.

Mike Newberry of Early County won in the irrigated production efficiency category, producing 255.3 bushels per acre at a cost of $2.48 per bushel.

Cobb and Newberry each received a $300 cash prize, and all three winners received plaques.


Read more