The Mid America CropLife Association (MACA) honored several industry, media and academic leaders at its recent annual meeting in St. Louis.

The association's Industry Vision Award was presented to John (Jack) Dutra, JD Information Services, Inc. The award is presented annually to an industry leader who provides exemplary vision on the issues affecting Midwestern agriculture.

Currently, Dutra serves as a consultant on water and environmental issues affecting the Non-Point Source (NPS) area to various Midwestern states as well as major chemical companies in the crop protection industry. He consults with agribusiness industries and national and regional associations including CLA and MACA.

At the present time, he serves on various association legislative and regulatory issues committees, is a member of the MACA Regulatory & Environmental Committee, CropLife America's Water Advisory Team, and on the USGS-NAWQA advisory council.

In August of 2005, JD Information Services, Inc. was contracted by the Industry Task Force II on 2, 4-D Research Data to act as its executive director.

Jack served as the 1987-1988 MACA president. He was active on various state association legislative/environmental committees and in some states elected to their board of directors. During this time he was honored by receiving various awards from states, CropLife America and MACA including the highest honor, the "Dean Roy Award" in 1997.

Dutra began his career in August of 1963 when he joined the Dow Chemical Company at their agricultural research facility in Davis, Calif. He worked for them for 33 years before retiring Jan. 1, 1996, and starting his consulting firm. While with Dow he held a variety of positions from agricultural marketing to field sales to market research to animal health. He also managed the Dow Chemical Latin America agricultural product business where he developed and implemented the Latin America area marketing and sales policy for working with distributors.

He served as a district manager for Dow Chemical Agricultural Division for various states before becoming the phenoxy industry manager and corporate accounts manager for the Western United States. He also served as the regional government relations manager for Dow Chemical and then their merged company DowElanco.

The MACA Educator of the Year Award went to Dr. Bryan Young from Southern Illinois University (SIU) at Carbondale. Dr. Young, a native of Michigan, earned an undergraduate degree in crop and soil science from Michigan State University and a doctorate in weed science from the University of Illinois.

He joined SIU in 1998 and is currently a professor of weed science with responsibilities in teaching, research and outreach. He teaches three courses per year in the area of crop production, weed management, and pesticide mode of action.

His primary research efforts are directed toward applied field and greenhouse research that can be readily assimilated by practitioners to improve weed management in corn, soybeans and wheat, in addition to certain horticultural crops. Dr. Young participates in numerous activities each year to disseminate research results and educational information.

Since 1998 Dr. Young has served as an ex-officio member of the executive boards for the Illinois Certified Crop Adviser Program and the Southern Illinois Fertilizer and Pesticide Conference.

He is a member of the North Central Weed Science Society, the Weed Science Society of America and the International Weed Science Society.

The Ruth White Media Award is presented to an individual who's demonstrated an evidence of consistent, objective and accurate reporting on American agriculture and the myriad of issues involved in modern agriculture, including the CropLife industry. This year's winner is Eric Sfiligoj, a seasoned trade press professional who's spent eight of his nearly two decades in journalism covering the agricultural retail channel.

The CropLife Ambassador of the Year Award was first presented in 1993 and is designed to recognize an ambassador for their efforts in promoting the crop protection industry through presentations to students or consumers. This year's recipient is Ray Sullivan, Shelbyville, Ind. Sullivan is a Certified Professional Agronomist with a bachelor's degree from Purdue University in agronomy (crops and soils). He's held variety of positions related to research and product development on corn, alfalfa and clover in several states.

He retired in 2006 from Syngenta. Since February 2005, when he became an ambassador, he has made 12 presentations to students with seven in 2006 and five in 2007.

Ray is MACA's Ambassador of the Year as he has a great attitude, the teachers love him and he is able to cover a wide area in Indiana. He takes initiative and has recruited another active ambassador.

This is the 13th year the Ambassador of the Year has been presented.

Finally, MACA President Jim Jenkins presented the association's most coveted award-the Dean Roy Achievement Award-named in honor of one of the organization's founders for "Exceptional Service to MACA and the CropLife Industry" for contributing the most by their selfless service.

The winner is selected in secret by the serving president, and Jenkins selected Don Bradley as the 2007 recipient.
Jenkins cited Bradley's long time involvement within MACA. Currently, Don serves as the director of marketing and sales for Murray Equipment.

"Don finds time for MACA and is always willing to help when asked," stated Jenkins "He's worked very hard to make sure the MACA annual meeting has the right speakers for the program, he's willing to try different things, worked on ag container issues and has always helped whenever asked. He has served as the chair of the Annual Meeting Committee the last few years. He's also participated in the Distribution & Environment Committee and is a member of the MACA Board of Directors.

"Bradley's strength is that he wants to be involved and is willing to give his time to make it successful," added Jenkins. "He's volunteered to help many times and he is always willing to help."

Bradley is the 26th person to receive the Dean Roy Award.