WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns and Energy Secretary Samuel Bodman have appointed 12 members to serve on the Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee for a term of three years.

Committee members assist the Departments of Energy and Agriculture in meeting important national goals of a healthier rural economy and improved national energy security.

The newly appointed members are:

  • David Anton, Venture Manager, Biofuels, DuPont Corporation, Wilmington, Del.;

  • Lou Honary, Director, ABIL Research Program, University of Northern Iowa, Waverly, Iowa;

  • E. Alan Kennett, President, Gay & Robinson Sugar, Kaumakani, Hawaii;

  • Mark Maher, Executive Director, GM Powertrain Vehicle Integration, Pontiac, Mich.;

  • John McKenna, CEO, Hamilton Clark & Co, McLean, Va.;

  • Ed McClellan, Alston & Bird LLP, Washington, D.C.;

  • Mitchell Peele, North Carolina Farm Bureau Federation, Raleigh, N.C.;

  • Jeffrey Serfass, President, Technology Transition Corporation, Washington, D.C.;

  • Robert Sharp, Vice President, Mobile Forest Products, Mobile, Ala.;

  • J. Read Smith, Co-Chair, Agriculture Energy Work Group, St. Johns, Wash.;

  • Rodney Williamson, Iowa Corn Promotion Board, Johnston, Iowa;

  • Thomas Binder (Reappointed), President of Research, Archer Daniels Midland, Decatur, Ill.

  • Committee members provide expert advice to the two secretaries on strategic planning; the technical focus and direction of requests for proposals issued under the biomass initiative; procedures for reviewing and evaluating proposals for funding; and encouraging closer collaboration among federal and state agencies, industry and growers. The Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee was established by the Biomass Research and Development Act of 2000.

    SOURCE: USDA news release.