WASHINGTON, DC - Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns and Department of Energy Secretary Samuel Bodman today announced the appointment of six new members and the reappointment of one member to serve on the Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee for a term of three years.

Committee members assist USDA and DOE in meeting important national goals of a healthier rural economy and improved national energy security.

Committee members provide expert advice on strategic planning; the technical focus and direction of requests for proposals issued under the biomass initiative; procedures for reviewing and evaluating proposals for funding; and encouraging closer collaboration among federal and state agencies, industry and growers. The Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee was established by the Biomass Research and Development Act of 2000.

Newly appointed members include:

  • Bob Ames, Senior Director, Corporate Strategy and Development, Tyson Foods, Inc., Springdale, AK;
  • William Berg, President and CEO, Dairyland Power Association, LaCrosse, WI;
  • Scott Faber, Farm Policy Campaign Director, Environmental Defense Group, Washington, DC;
  • Ralph Cavalieri, Associate Dean for Research, College of Agriculture and Home Economics, Washington State University, Pullman, WA (Reappointed);
  • Timothy Maker, Executive Director, Biomass Energy Resources Center, Inc., Montpelier, VT;
  • Mary McBride, Executive Vice President, Communications and Energy Banking Group, CoBank, Denver, CO;
  • W. Henson Moore, President Emeritus, American Forest & Paper Association, Washington, DC (nominated as co-chairman);
  • Thomas W. Ewing will continue to serve as chairman.

  • SOURCE: USDA news release.