Agriculture Secretary Ann M. Veneman has announced the appointment of five new members to the National Organic Standards Board.

The appointees will serve terms beginning Jan. 24, 2005, and ending Jan. 24, 2010. They are: Mr. Gerald A. Davis, organic producer, Arvin, Calif.; Mr. Rigoberto I. Delgado, organic producer, Houston, Texas; Ms. Bea E. James, retailer, Golden Valley, Minn.; Mr. Hubert J. Karreman, environmentalist, Quarryville, Pa.; and Ms. Julie S. Weisman, organic handler, Tenafly, N.J.

The National Organic Standards Board includes four organic producers, two handlers, one retailer, three environmentalists, three consumers, one scientist and one certifying agent.

The National Organic Standards Board was established by the Organic Foods Production Act of 1990. The board is authorized to assist in the development of standards for substances to be used in organic production and to advise the secretary on any other aspect of the implementation of the act. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the activities of the board.

Source: USDA Release