The United Soybean Board, St. Louis, announces its new leaders for 2005. The new Executive Committee includes includes Chairman Greg Anderson of Newman Grove, Neb., Vice Chairman Ike Boudreaux of Lebeau, La.; Secretary Eric Niemann of Nortonville, Kan; and Treasurer David Schmidt of Iowa City, Iowa.

Also elected to the Executive Committee were Todd Allen of West Memphis, Ark.; Benny Cooper of Kevil, Ky.; Chuck Friedrich of Aurora, S.D; Kent Gronlie of Northwood, N.D.; Bryan Hieser of Minier, Ill.; and Jim Sallstrom of Winthrop, Minn.

"With pressures like soybean rust and the need to support animal agriculture, it is critical that we strengthen our partnerships among all of agriculture," says Anderson. "This year, we will increase efforts with state soybean boards and university researchers and other organizations to more effectively bring about the changes necessary to increase our profitability."

Among the priorities for the 64 farmer-directors are Asian soybean rust, soy biodiesel, animal agriculture and international marketing.

Source: Association Release