The discovery of Asian soybean rust in two commercial fields in Aiken County, South Carolina, today brings that state's total to 15 and the U.S. total to 68 counties positive for rust this year.

According to the South Carolina commentary on, "Today rust was found in two commercial soybean fields in Aiken County. The two fields are located approximately 1.0 and 1.5 miles east of the town of Monetta, S.C.

"In the first field, which was growth stage R-6, nine out of 25 leaves had three to 50 pustules per leaf. In the second field, which was growth stage R-5.5, two out of 25 leaves had three to five pustules per leaf."

State officials said most of the Group 4 soybeans are being harvested. Most Group 5 and 6 fields are defoliating. Most of the May-planted Group 7 and 8 soybeans are past R6. All fields, including double-cropped fields, are at least at R4.

Aiken County is in west-central South Carolina, on the border with Georgia and among a large grouping of positive S.C. counties and adjacent to one positive GA county (Burke).

South Carolina now has 15 counties -- a third of the counties in the state -- positive for rust: Aiken, Allendale, Anderson, Barnwell, Calhoun, Colleton, Darlington, Dorchester, Edgefield, Florence, Hampton, Horry, Lee, Orangeburg and Sumter.

To recap, the U.S. has 68 counties in eight states with reports of soybean rust on soybeans and/or kudzu this year: 15 in Louisiana, 15 in South Carolina, 13 in Florida, 11 in Georgia, five in Alabama, four in North Carolina, three in Texas, two in Mississippi. Of those, 48 were on soybeans across the eight affected states.

SOURCE: South Carolina commentary on