INDIANAPOLIS -- The RFD-TV/RFD HD coverage of the 121st Tournament of Roses Parade will be centered heavily around the history making, first-ever FFA float in the Rose Parade. The broadcast will originate from Pasadena, Calif., tomorrow, Jan. 1, 2010.

The live broadcast on RFD-TV/RFD HD will begin on New Year’s morning with a one-hour special, “The Making of the FFA Float,” at 10 a.m. (Eastern), 9 a.m. (Central), 8 a.m. (Mountain) and 7 a.m. (Pacific). This program will give viewers a behind-the-scenes look at the start-to-finish process on designing, building and decorating of the FFA float. RFD-TV will also feature on-location interviews with FFA members involved with the float, including the 2009-2010 National FFA Officer Team, the winners of the Stars Over America Pageant, the 52 state and territory FFA presidents set to march along with the float, National FFA Advisor Dr. Larry Case, plus other FFA executives and guests.

Then, RFD-TV’s two-hour live coverage of the 121st Annual Tournament of Roses Parade broadcast will immediately follow, beginning at 11 a.m. (Eastern). All three hours will once again be hosted by the veteran broadcast team of Lorianne Crook & Charlie Chase, with Pam Minick providing her expert equestrian commentary at ground level along the actual parade route. The RFD-TV broadcast will also feature an “FFA Cam” affixed to the FFA Float to provide viewers a chance to see the crowd reaction as the FFA float makes its way down the five-and-a-half mile parade route before the more than 1 million spectators expected to attend.

As is its tradition, RFD-TV’s Tournament of Roses coverage will be broadcast with limited commercial interruptions and will feature all of the equine groups participating in the parade. RFD-TV advertisers and sponsors make such a broadcast possible, including Nationwide Insurance and the PBR (Professional Bull Riders).

“We expect RFD-TV’s largest Nielsen-rated audience ever for our comprehensive carriage of this upcoming Rose Parade,” stated Patrick Gottsch, founder & president of RFD-TV. “The extensive coverage of the FFA float, combined with our broadcast team of Crook & Chase, Pam Minick’s commentary, and limited-commercial interruptions is a package that will have all of rural America watching, as it cannot be duplicated by any other television network.”

RFD-TV will also provide a live streaming feed through its website and offer repeats of its Rose Parade broadcasts, in addition to providing updates and details as the FFA float evolves and is decorated leading up to the New Year’s Day broadcasts. A DVD of the entire three-hour telecast will also be offered for sale for those wishing to get a souvenir copy.

SOURCE: RFD-TV.