ST. LOUIS -- QUALISOY(TM) has announced its 2007 board of directors and executive committee.

QUALISOY is an initiative of the soybean industry charged with helping to bring to market trait-enhanced soybeans that produce healthier, more functional soybean oil and meal products.

In the past year, QUALISOY has helped introduce varieties of soybean oil, such as low-linolenic soybean oil, that offer soy-based trans fat solutions to food manufacturers, food processors and food service operators. Major companies such as Kellogg's and KFC have announced adoption of low linolenic soy oil, as key to the elimination of trans fat in their product offerings.

The QUALISOY Board of Directors elected officers for 2007 during the meeting. Greg Anderson (Newman Grove, Neb.) of the United Soybean Board was to be appointed as chairman, and Dennis Byron, vice president of crop development with Pioneer Hi-Bred International, was elected vice chairman.

Jim Bowman, vice president of production management at Monsanto, will serve as secretary/treasurer and the member-at-large position will be held by Victor Bohuslavsky, the executive director of the Nebraska Soybean Board. John Becherer of USB will continue to act as chief executive officer for the Board.

"As a fifth-generation soybean farmer I understand the importance of introducing new soybean varieties, such as low-linolenic soybeans, that bring value-added products to the marketplace," said 2007 QUALISOY Chairman Greg Anderson. "The QUALISOY Board has a unique opportunity to work together in partnership with industry in identifying future traits that will benefit the food and feed market segments. Each representative brings value and experience to the table, and together I am confident we will maintain and increase the competitiveness of the U.S. soybean industry."

New board members were also announced during the meeting and include USB representatives Ken Dalenberg (Mansfield, Ill.), George Martin (Nebo, Ky.), and returning member Marc Curtis (Leland, Miss.. Also joining the board is Ken Bryant, vice president and director of technical services for Akey; research director Bryan Hieser of the Illinois Ag Guild; the CEO of the Iowa Soybean Association, Kirk Leeds. Steve Wellman of the American Soybean Association was named as an alternate member.

Curt Sindergard of the American Soybean Association was named to serve out the term vacated by his colleague Gary Joachim, and he will manage the QUALISOY Board's legislative efforts.

The QUALISOY Board recognized the leadership of Jim Sutter, vice president of Cargill's Grain & Oilseed Supply Chain, who has served as QUALISOY Chairman since 2005. Sutter will continue as an active QUALISOY Board member, serving as Cargill's representative on the Board. With the support of his peers, Sutter helped build QUALISOY's awareness and credibility throughout the food, feed and farming communities.

QUALISOY is a collaborative effort among the soybean industry to help market the development and availability of trait-enhanced soybeans and soybean oil, reduce environmental impacts of livestock production through improved soybean meal, and improve the global competitiveness of the U.S. soybean industry. A diverse 22-member QUALISOY board of directors sets research priorities, evaluates existing and emerging technologies, and sets quality standards for traits, products and processes.