The first Precision Impact Awards as originated by AgProfessional and the Agricultural Retailers Association were presented at the ARA annual meeting in New Orleans.

Three regional winners—South, North and Plains-West—were announced and presented with display trophies. Accepting the colorful acrylic-etched trophies on behalf of their company and their precision agriculture leadership within their companies were Steven Harrelson, Southern States Cooperative Latta Service, Dillon, S.C.; Kevin Kruize, Central Valley Cooperative, Owatonna, Minn.; and Brent Wiesenburger, Wheat Growers of South and North Dakota, Aberdeen, S.D.

The panel of industry and university judges noted it was an extremely close competition among the top two or three entries per region. Judging was done based on information and materials provided by each entrant explaining company success related to several criteria:

  •  Input Efficiency Using Precision Technology
  • Grower Engagement and Encouragement of Customer Use
  • Stewardship for the Environment
  • Overall Innovative Use of Precision Technology
  • Bottom-line Profitability for the Company and Customers

This award recognized local operations and employees, not corporate management. Those making local decisions and overseeing precision ag at the customer level were the ones earning the award for their companies.

Registration for two to the Agricultural Retailers Association annual meeting in New Orleans from Dec. 2-4 plus travel and accommodations were provided each winning company. Announcement of the winners was in front of the general assembly of meeting registrants.

Description of the individual winning operations will be in the January AgProfessional magazine and posted on