The National Pork Producers Council elected new officers and members to its board of directors at the National Pork Industry Forum over the weekend.

Taking over as president of the organization is Don Butler, director of government relations and public affairs for Murphy-Brown LLC, the livestock production subsidiary of Smithfield Foods Inc. Sam Carney, a producer from Adair, Iowa, moved up to president-elect. Butler served a president-elect and Carney was vice president of the organization from March 9, 2008. Doug Wolf was elected to the vice president's position. Each was elected for a one-year term.

Re-elected to the board for three-year terms in the producer category were Butler, from Clinton, N.C.; Bob Dykhuis, from Holland, Mich.; and Wolf, from Lancaster, Wis. Howard Hill, DVM, from Cambridge, Iowa, was elected to a three-year term. Todd Neff, with Tyson Fresh Meats from Dakota Dunes, S.D., was re-elected to a two-year term as the Packer Processor Industry Council representative.

"We have excellent leadership in Don, Sam and Doug and quality, dedicated industry representatives in the board members who were elected," said NPPC CEO Neil Dierks. "I know that all of them will work diligently and tirelessly on behalf of America's pork producers."

In addition to the newly elected and re-elected officers and board members, continuing as NPPC directors are: Gary Asay, from Osco, Ill.; Kathy Chinn, from Clarence, Mo.; R.C. Hunt, from Wilson, N.C.; Mark Legan, from Coatesville, Ind.; Larry Liepold, from Okabena, Minn.; Bill Luckey, from Columbus, Neb.; and Randy Spronk, from Edgerton, Minn. Quentin Bottorff, who works for Phibro Animal Health, remains as the allied industry representative. Bryan Black, who runs Ned Black & Sons farm in Canal Winchester, Ohio, will serve on the board as immediate past president.

Producers Rick Rehmeier, from Augusta, Mo., and Joe Popplewell, from Hennessey, Okla., were elected for one-year terms to NPPC's Nominating Committee, which reviews the credentials of candidates for the organization's board of directors.