CENTENNIAL, Colo. -- The Cattlemen's Beef Board seated new board members and elected officers and representatives for its 2006 Executive Committee and Beef Promotion Operating Committee during its annual meeting in Denver Feb. 1-4, 2006.

In addition, the Beef Board unanimously elected Amarillo, Texas, cattleman Jay O'Brien to serve as 2006 chairman of the Board, with outgoing chairman Al Svajgr of Nebraska handing over the gavel as he ended his term. Kansas cattleman Ken Stielow was elected vice chairman, and Dave Bateman of Illinois was elected to serve as secretary/treasurer of the Beef Board for the year.

After being appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture in December, a total of 30 Board members were seated for service on the CBB -- including 10 reappointments of existing members to a second term and the appointment of 20 new members, who accepted the oath of office from USDA representative Kenneth Payne.

New members seated and the states they represent include: Thomas Jones, Ark.; Ross Jenkins II, Calif.; Roger West, Fla.; Tim Shaw, Idaho; Daniel Kerschen and Terry Handke, Kan.; Charles Bassett, Mo.; James Eschliman and Lindy Whipps, Neb.; Margie Hande, N.D.; Bob Drake and Andrea Hutchison, Okla.; Robert Bruner, Daniel Dierschke, Bryant Fisher and Daryl Owen, Texas; Bill Oliver, Va.; and Ron Allen, John O'Carroll, and David Palmer, importers.

Reappointments and the states they represent include: Carlyle Currier, Colo.; Ken Stielow, Kan.; Charles Miller, Ky.; Jim Almond, Mont.; Pat Woods, N.M.; Randy Meabon, Penn.; Ed Blair, S.D.; Sugie Sartwelle, Texas; and Greg Benedict and Kim Holzner, importers.

Executive committee named

The 12-member CBB Executive Committee includes the board's three officers and another eight members elected at large. In addition, the immediate past chair of the Beef Board (Al Svajgr of Nebraska) serves on the committee in an advisory-only capacity.

Based on recommendations from the Joint Beef Industry Nominating Committee, the CBB elected the following members to its 2006 Executive committee: CBB vice chairman Ken Stielow of Kansas, who will serve as chairman of the Executive Committee; and members Jay O'Brien (CBB chairman) of Texas; Dave Bateman of Illinois, (secretary/treasurer); Laurie Bryant, importer; Virginia Coehlo, Calif.; Robert Fountain Jr., Ga.; Dana Hauck, Kan.; Neil Kayser, Wash.; Charles Miller, Ky.; Sugie Sartwelle, Texas; and Stan Zylstra, Iowa.

The Executive Committee operates under the direction of, and within the policies established by, the full board and is responsible for carrying out Beef Board policies and conducting business and making decisions necessary to administer the terms and provisions of the Act and Order between meetings of the full board.

The operating committee

The Beef Promotion Operating Committee was created by the Beef Promotion Research Act to help coordinate state and national Beef Checkoff Programs. The 20-person committee includes 10 members of the Cattlemen's Beef Board, among them the Board's three officers and seven others elected directly by Beef Board members.

CBB members elected to the 2006 Beef Promotion Operating Committee during the annual meeting in Denver include: chairman Jay O'Brien of Texas, vice chairman Ken Stielow of Kansas; secretary/treasurer Dave Bateman of Illinois; Michael Cline, Iowa; Carl Crabtree, Idaho; Richard Nielson, Utah; Gary Sharp, S.D.; Don Stewart, importer; Wayne Thames, Ala.; and Lucinda Williams, Mass. (Northeast Region representative).

The other 10 members of the committee are representatives of state beef councils, including the chair and vice chair of the Federation of State Beef Councils and eight other members elected by state beef councils. Those representatives include Federation chairman Larry Jones of Kansas; vice chairman Gary Voogt, Mich.; Alan Albright, Iowa; Clifford Dance, Miss.; David Dick, Mo.; Scott George, Wyo.; Laura Lickley, Idaho; Leo Vermedahl, Texas; Myron Williams, S.D.; and Jim Wilson, Ore.

The Beef Checkoff Program was established as part of the 1985 Farm Bill. The checkoff assesses $1 per head on the sale of live domestic and imported cattle, in addition to a comparable assessment on imported beef and beef products. States retain up to 50 cents on the dollar and forward the other 50 cents per head to the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board, which administers the national checkoff program, subject to USDA approval.

SOURCE: Cattlemen's Beef Board.