National Cotton Council directors for 2005 were announced at the industrywide organization's annual meeting.

Woods Eastland, a Mississippi cooperative executive, was elected chairman of the National Cotton Council for 2005. He served as the NCC's vice chairman in 2004 and succeeds Woody Anderson, a Colorado City, Texas, producer.

Eastland has served as president and chief executive officer of Greenwood-based Staplcotn Cooperative Association and Staplcotn Discount Corporation since 1986. He has been a cotton, soybean and rice producer in Sunflower County since 1974.

Eastland also serves as vice president and director of AMCOT, and is a director of the Delta Council, Mississippi Chemical Corporation, and The Seam, LLC. He is past president and chairman of Cotton Council International, a past member of the New York Cotton Exchange's Board of Managers, a past director of the Memphis Branch Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis and a former member of the New York Board of Trade's Board of Governors.

Allen B. Helms, Jr., a Clarkedale, Ark., producer who served as NCC treasurer in 2004, will serve as NCC vice chairman. Re-elected as NCC vice presidents were: Charles Owen, a Pima, Ariz., ginner; Gail Kring, a Lubbock, Texas, crusher; Fred Underwood, a Lubbock, Texas, warehouseman; Robert Weil, II, a Montgomery, Ala., merchant; and G. Stephen Felker, a Monroe, Ga., textile manufacturer. Craig Shook, a Corpus Christi, Texas, producer, was elected secretary-treasurer.

Re-elected NCC staff officers were: Dr. Mark Lange, NCC president and chief executive officer; Dr. Gary Adams, vice president, Economics and Policy Analysis; Craig Brown, vice president, Producer Affairs; Fred Johnson, vice president, Administration and Program Coordination; Dr. Andy Jordan, vice president, Technical Services; and Dr. Bill M. Norman, vice president, Ginner Services; all of Memphis; and John Maguire, senior vice president, Washington Operations; and Allen Terhaar, vice president, Foreign Operations; both in Washington, DC.

Elected to the NCC Board during interest caucuses were:

Producers - Ronald C. Fleming, Scotland Neck, N.C.; Jon W. Hardwick, Newellton, La.; Rickey Bearden, Plains, Texas; Wiley Murphy, Tucson, Ariz.; and John E. Pucheu, Jr., Tranquility, Calif..

Ginners - Burges U. Griffin, Jr, Lewiston, N.C.; William A. Guthrie, Newellton, La.; Sid Brough, Edroy, Texas; Barbara L. Haralson, Safford, Ariz.; and Larry R. McClendon, Marianna, Ark..

Warehousemen - Tommy Malin, Memphis, Tenn.; Thomas W. Stallings, Funston, Ga.; Shane Stephens, Greenwood, Miss.; Wendell L. Tucker, Quanah, Texas; Robert Weatherford, Corpus Christi, Texas.

Merchants - W. B. Dunavant, III, Memphis, Tenn.; Manfred Schiefer, Lubbock, Texas; John D. Mitchell, Cordova, Tenn.; Gary Taylor, Cordova, Tenn.; and G.W. Winburne, Phoenix, Ariz.

Cottonseed - Austin Rose, Abilene, Texas; Bobby Crum, Harlingen, Texas; Robert L. Lacy, Jr., Lubbock, Texas; J. Gary Conkling, Oklahoma City, Okla.; and Sammy Wright, Tifton, Ga.

Cooperatives - Meredith Allen, Greenwood, Miss.; David L. Hand, El Paso, Texas; Jarral Neeper, Bakersfield, Calif.; Wallace L. Darneille, Lubbock, Texas; and Jeffery A. Thompson, Prattville, Ala.

Manufacturers - Roger W. Chastain, Greenville, S.C.; W. Duke Kimbrell, Gastonia, N.C.; Jerry D. Rowland, Winston-Salem, N.C.; D. Harding Stowe, Belmont, N.C.; and Van A. May, Lubbock, Texas.

Source: Association Release