Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns has announced the appointment of 154 pork producers and 10 importers to the 2005 National Pork Producers Delegate Body. Appointees will serve a 1-year term.

Established under the Pork Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act of 1985, the Delegate Body and the National Pork Board have implemented a national program designed to improve the pork industry's position in the marketplace.

The delegates were selected from nominees submitted by state pork producer association and importer groups.

Appointed members representing pork producers by state are:

M. (Marion) Stanley Morris and Joseph C. Hall, Alabama; Todd R. Elsberry, Alaska; Donald L. Davidson and Lawrence W. Beck, Arizona; Harry W. Caldwell and Todd W. Risius, Arkansas; Wesley Barone and Timothy J. Mylrea, California; Brett B. Rutledge, David C. Martin and Ronald L. Swehla, Colorado; John B. Tigner Jr. and Henry C. Johnson IV, Delaware; Ricky N. Lyons and Tommy R. Crawford, Florida; R. (Rodrick) Clint Oliver and Stephen J. Healy, Georgia; Valerie L. Kaneshiro and Ronald B. McKeehan, Hawaii; Bradley K. Thornton and Gordon L. Bennett, Idaho;

Arthur W. Lehmann, Darrell D. Stitzel, Stephen K. Main, Gary L. Asay, Marshall K. Neisler and Jeff E. Galle, Illinois; Levi J. Huffman, Alan Wilhoite, Terry Vanlaningham, Randall E. Salsbery and Monty E. Moss, Indiana ; Derrick D. Sleezer, Charles D. Wirtz, Max S. Schmidt, Curtis D. Meier, David E. Moody, John P. Weber, Chad R. Keppy, Cindy L. Becker, Stephen J. Burgmeier, Samuel J. Carney, Dennis M. Carlson, Susan Carlson, Rodney G. Dykstra;

Kenneth G. Gard, Gene G. Gourley, Randy D. Hilleman, Steven L. Kerns, Bryan K. Karwal, Leon C. Sheets, Norman R. Schmitt, Scott W. Tapper, Eugene D. Ver Steeg, John E. Vossberg and Donald L. Struthers, Iowa; Steven J. Eichman, Douglas Claassen, Kelly J. Wondra and Christopher C. Cox, Kansas; John S. Medley Jr. and John H. Filiatreau, Kentucky; Robert L. Fletcher III and William E. Fletcher, Louisiana; Bruce E. Patten and Charlie F. Kenney Jr, Maine; Charles T. (Tom) Linthicum, Jr. and Thomas G. Hartsock, Maryland;

Lisa D. Colby, Massachusetts; Patrick M. Hunter, Daniel J. Pung and Edward L. Reed, Michigan; Lynn J. Becker, Dianne L. Bettin, Kelly L. Blomgren, Gregory M. Fox, Randal E. Koll, Craig A. Mensink, Karen J. Richter, Howard A. Schoenfeld, Randy R. Schoenfelder, Dale E. Stevermer and Douglas K. Wenner, Minnesota; James A. Hogue and Terry W. Emerson, Mississippi; John P. Howerton, James E. Fisher, Scott G. Hays and William D. Kessler, Missouri; Donald L. Herzog and John W. Rauser, Montana;

David E. Hansen, Gary L. Doerr, Gary E. Schlange, William (Bill) H. Luckey and Terry D. O'Neel, Nebraska; Kristina L. Simkins and Larry L. Pedrett, Nevada; Doreen R. Gitschier and Jean A. Corsetti, New Hampshire; Guy Lee 3rd, New Jersey; Brent M. VanDyke, New Mexico; Gerald R. Swartley and Michael A. Hargrave, New York; Lois G. Britt, John S. Sargent, Curtis G. Barwick, Zack McCullen III, William T. Herring II, George H. Pettus, Donald P. Butler, Eugene C. Nemechek, Waitus C. English III, Roland H. Mohesky, Robert W. Ivey, James E. Stocker and Larry J. (Jake) Barrow Jr., North Carolina;

Brian J. Bergh and Betty M. Marschner, North Dakota; Jim L. Albaugh, Jon B. Ervin, Jeffrey V. Benson and Anthony J. Bornhorst, Ohio; Charles (Chuck) E. Luthi, Betty B. Baker, Charles J. Wieland and Karen D. Brewer, Oklahoma; Walter J. Burke and Gayle L. Burke Oregon; Oscar J. Manbeck, Thomas A. Sollenberger and Kurtis P. Good, Pennsylvania; Barbara J. Andrews and Kenneth L. Andrews, Rhode Island; Larry B. DeHart and Jeff A. Hallman, South Carolina; Paul D. Brandt, Brad S. Greenway and David J. Uttecht, South Dakota; James (Jimmy) A. Tosh and Dennis A. Holder, Tennessee; Erwin F. Schwartz Jr. and Donald L. Clift, Texas;

Roger A. Howard and Todd N. Ballard, Utah; Donald H. Horsley and William R. Wooding Jr, Virginia; Kari A. Marks and Paul M. Klingeman, Washington; Douglas D. Wolf and Jonathan J. Wyttenbach, Wisconsin; Douglas W. DeRouchey and Scott A. Palmer,Wyoming.

Importers appointed to the Delegate Body are: Ole Nielsen, Stig H. Kjaeroe, David E. Biltchik, James R. Marsh, Robert S. Gellert, Rene M. Olsen, Frank D. Jensen, Karsten Bruun, Malcolm O. James and Albert F. Pish.

The program is funded by a mandatory assessment currently set at 0.40 percent of the market value of all hogs sold in the United States. An equivalent amount is assessed on imported hogs, pork, and pork products. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Services monitors operation of the board.

Delegates meet annually to recommend the rate of assessment, determine the percentage of assessments that state associations will receive, and nominate producers and importers to the15-member National Pork Board.

Representation on the Delegate Body is based on annual net assessments collected on sales of domestic hogs within individual states, with a minimum of two producers from each state. States have the option of not submitting nominees. Connecticut, Vermont and West Virginia did not submit any nominees, and Alaska, Massachusetts, New Jersey and New Mexico only submitted one nominee this year. Importer representation is based on assessments on imported pork and pork products.

Source: USDA Release