JEFFERSON CITY, Mo.- For a third year, the biodiesel industry has chosen farmer-leader Darryl Brinkmann to lead the National Biodiesel Board.

A soybean grower from Carlyle, Ill., Brinkmann has the charge of leading the organization as chairman during yet another year of intense growth and change for the alternative fuel.

Brinkmann, elected this week by NBB's 143 voting members, will guide the industry during record growth. Brinkmann has served as a board member for the nonprofit trade association since 1998.

Officers elected to lead the board are:

  • Darryl Brinkmann, chairman, representing the American Soybean Association

  • Jim Conway, vice chairman, representing Griffin Industries, a biodiesel supplier based in Cold Spring, Ky.

  • Gary Haer, secretary, representing REG, Inc., a biodiesel supplier based in Ralston, Iowa

  • Ed Ulch, treasurer, a farmer from Solon, Iowa representing the Iowa Soybean Association.

    Additionally, three others joined the governing board: Greg Anderson, a farmer representing the Nebraska Soybean Board; Bill Ayres, Ag BioEnergy LP, Austin; and Kris Kappenman, ADM, Decatur, Ill.

    The remaining governing board members, still serving their terms, are:

  • Jim Boushka of Smithfield BioEnergy, a biodiesel supplier in Smithfield, Va.

  • John Campbell of Ag Environmental Products, a division of Ag Processing Inc., a biodiesel fuel supplier based in Sergeant Bluff, Iowa

  • Gene Gebolys, representing World Energy, a biodiesel supplier based in Chelsea, Mass.

  • Bob Metz, a farmer representing the South Dakota Soybean Research and Promotion Council

  • David Womack, a farmer representing the Tennessee Soybean Promotion Board

  • Robert Stobaugh, a farmer representing the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board

  • Fred Wellons, representing Baker Commodities, a biodiesel supplier based in Los Angeles, Calif.

  • Ed Hegland, a Minnesota farmer representing the state's Soybean Research & Promotion Council.

    NBB recognized outgoing governing board members Jerry Osterholt, former treasurer and Indiana Soybean Board representative; Jeff Nelson of biodiesel supplier Stepan Company and chairman of the marketing committee, Northfield, Ill.; and Bob Clark of Noil Energy Group, Commerce, Calif.

    Among special guests at the board meeting was Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN), who addressed NBB members. Rep. Peterson is a member of "The Second Amendments," the bipartisan U.S. congressional rock band. The Second Amendments will perform at The National Biodiesel Conference and Expo which will be held Feb. 4-7 in San Antonio.

    The program also included a ceremony recognizing the 17 BQ-9000 accredited producers and certified marketer companies. The National Biodiesel Accreditation Commission (NBAC) oversees BQ-9000. Gene Gebolys was recognized not only for World Energy's accredited producer status, but also for his long-time service in initiating NBAC's activities.

    Based in Jefferson City, Mo., the NBB is dedicated to coordinating the biodiesel industry and educating the public about the fuel. Its membership is comprised of state, national, and international feedstock and processor organizations; biodiesel suppliers; fuel marketers and distributors; and technology providers. NBB membership has steadily grown during the last several years, signifying the escalation of biodiesel interest in the United States. In addition to the board's 143 full voting members, there are 199 associate members and seven individual members.

    More information on biodiesel can be found at