Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns has announced the appointment of Lori L. Denham, Arlington, Va., to the Cotton Board. Ms. Denham will fill a member position on the board that became vacant in January 2005. Ms. Denham will serve a three year term ending December 31, 2007.

The Cotton Board consists of 34 members, their alternates and one consumer advisor and is authorized by the Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966. Members of the board represent cotton producers, importers and consumers.

The Cotton Research and Promotion Program is designed to advance the position of cotton in the marketplace. It is funded by a mandatory assessment on all domestically produced cotton and imports of foreign-produced cotton and cotton-containing products. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the program.

Source: USDA Release