Plant scientists celebrate findings at APS–CPS joint meeting

decrease font size  Resize text   increase font size       Printer-friendly version of this article Printer-friendly version of this article

The American Phytopathological Society (APS) and the Canadian Phytopathological Society (CPS) recently convened a successful joint meeting in Minneapolis, Minn., on phytopathology and "Plant Health Connections."
More than 1,500 plant scientists from 48 countries attended this exciting joint meeting to share the latest discoveries in plant pathology and related fields, and they discussed keeping plants healthy and the direct connection to the world's food security. At the meeting, APS welcomed new council members and presented awards for excellence in plant pathology.
Council members for 2014–2015 include President A. Rick Bennett, University of Arkansas; President-Elect Sally A. Miller, The Ohio State University, Vice President Timothy D. Murray, Washington State University; Immediate Past President George S. Abawi, Cornell University; Internal Communications Officer David M. Gadoury, Cornell University; Treasurer Steven A. Slack, The Ohio State University; Senior Councilor-at-Large Mary E. Palm, USDA APHIS PPQ PHP; Councilor-at-Large Eric C. Tedford, Syngenta Crop Protection; Councilor-at-Large Lindsey J. du Toit, Washington State University; Divisional Councilor Lawrence E. Datnoff, Louisiana State University; and Publications Councilor Niklaus Grunwald, Oregon State University.
APS also honored 20 individuals with awards for their work in plant science and their service to APS.
The APS Fellow awards, honoring current APS members in recognition of distinguished contributions to plant pathology or to APS, went to James E. Adaskaveg, University of California; Christopher A. Clark, Louisiana State University; Thomas R. Gordon, University of California; Stewart M. Gray, USDA ARS; Mary K. Hausbeck, Michigan State University; George W. Hudler, Cornell University; Roger A. C. Jones, University of Western Australia; Gary W. Moorman, Penn State University; Tomonori Shiraishi, Okayama University; James R. Steadman, University of Nebraska; and Brett M. Tyler, Oregon State University.
Ignazio Carbone, North Carolina State University, received the Ruth Allen Award for his outstanding, innovative contribution to research that has changed or has the potential to change the direction of research in any field of plant pathology.
The Lee M. Hutchins Award for an author of published research on basic or applied aspects of diseases of perennial fruit plants was awarded to Natália A. Peres, University of Florida.
The Noel T. Keen Award for Research Excellence in Molecular Plant Pathology went to Pradeep Kachroo, University of Kentucky, for his outstanding contributions and demonstrated sustained excellence and leadership in research that significantly advances the understanding of molecular aspects of host–pathogen interactions, plant pathogens or plant-associated microbes, or molecular biology of disease development or defense mechanisms.
Alison E. Robertson, Iowa State University, received the Syngenta Award for her outstanding contribution to teaching, research, and extension in plant pathology.
Valérie Verdier, Colorado State University and Institut de Recherche pour le Developpement, received the International Service Award recognizing her international research on bacterial pathogens causing devastating diseases of cassava and rice.
Recognizing excellence in extension plant pathology, Mohamed F. R. Khan, North Dakota State University and the University of Minnesota, received the Excellence in Extension Award.
For his contributions to plant pathology outside of university or federal realms, Steven Gylling, Gylling Data Management Inc., received the Excellence in Industry Award.
The Excellence in Regulatory Affairs and Crop Security Award recognizes outstanding contributions to regulatory plant pathology, crop security, and trade enhancement efforts by APS members. This year's recipient was Kenneth C. Eastwell, Washington State University.
Joseph-Alexander Verreet, University of Kiel, received the Excellence in Teaching Award, which recognizes excellence in teaching plant pathology.
Full descriptions of each of the awardees are available at, and photos of individuals are available upon request. Recordings of the Opening General Session and Plenary Session I, "Plant Health Connections—Soil Health, Plant Health, Food Safety, Human Health," are available online.

Buyers Guide

Doyle Equipment Manufacturing Co.
Doyle Equipment Manufacturing prides themselves as being “The King of the Rotary’s” with their Direct Drive Rotary Blend Systems. With numerous setup possibilities and sizes, ranging from a  more...
A.J. Sackett Sons & Company
Sackett Blend Towers feature the H.I.M, High Intensity Mixer, the next generation of blending and coating technology which supports Precision Fertilizer Blending®. Its unique design allows  more...
R&R Manufacturing Inc.
The R&R Minuteman Blend System is the original proven performer. Fast, precise blending with a compact foot print. Significantly lower horsepower requirement. Low inload height with large  more...
Junge Control Inc.
Junge Control Inc. creates state-of-the-art product blending and measuring solutions that allow you to totally maximize operating efficiency with amazing accuracy and repeatability, superior  more...
Yargus Manufacturing
The flagship blending system for the Layco product line is the fully automated Layco DW System™. The advanced technology of the Layco DW (Declining Weight) system results in a blending  more...
Yargus Manufacturing
The LAYCOTE™ Automated Coating System provides a new level of coating accuracy for a stand-alone coating system or for coating (impregnating) in an automated blending system. The unique  more...
John Deere
The DN345 Drawn Dry Spreader can carry more than 12 tons of fertilizer and 17.5 tons of lime. Designed to operate at field speeds up to 20 MPH with full loads and the G4 spreader uniformly  more...
Force Unlimited
The Pro-Force is a multi-purpose spreader with a wider apron and steeper sides. Our Pro-Force has the most aggressive 30” spinner on the market, and is capable of spreading higher rates of  more...
BBI Spreaders
MagnaSpread 2 & MagnaSpread 3 — With BBI’s patented multi-bin technology, these spreaders operate multiple hoppers guided by independent, variable-rate technology. These models are built on  more...

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left


YOUR BEST HARVEST IS NOW WITHIN REACH J&M introduces their patented line of X-tended Reach grain carts, featuring a frontfolding single ... Read More

View all Products in this segment

View All Buyers Guides

Feedback Form
Feedback Form