The one-day national summit on “Strategies to Manage Herbicide-Resistant Weeds” will take place May 10 in George Washington University’s Jack Morton Auditorium, 805 21st Street NW, Washington, D.C., with a reception to follow. A full day of national speakers and panelists are on the agenda for this free-of-charge conference.

Goals and reason for the summit as explained by the assortment of officials organizing the summit are as follows: “Preserving the efficacy of herbicides, and of herbicide-resistance technology, particularly as it relates to the use of glyphosate, depends upon awareness of the problem and coordinated action to address the problem by individuals at the farm level and beyond. This summit will be a venue to bring awareness of the issue to important stakeholders and an opportunity for experts from diverse disciplines to strategize in a coordinated way to address herbicide-resistant weeds. In convening stakeholders for this event, participants will take a step towards addressing a recommendation from a 2010 NRC report that federal and state government agencies, private-sector technology developers, universities, farmer organizations, and other relevant stakeholders collaborate to document emerging weed-resistance problems and to develop cost-effective resistance-management programs and practices that preserve effective weed control. The summit will provide the opportunity for stakeholders to explore the scientific basis of the emergence of herbicide resistance and to consider different perspectives on both opportunities and barriers to overcoming the problem of herbicide-resistant weeds.”

The agenda shows the top-notch presenters and panelists that are involved with organizing and conducting the summit. Go to the Web site for registering by clicking here. The summit is open to the public with lunch served to attendees. For more information, go to

Thursday, May 10, 2012
Jack Morton Auditorium, George Washington University,
805 21st St. NW, Washington, DC

8:00 a.m.


8:30 a.m.

Keynote address

9:00 a.m.

Herbicide resistance in weeds: What is the nature of the problem?

Dr. Micheal Owen, Professor of Agronomy, Iowa State University

9:30 a.m.

The epidemiology of herbicide resistance

Dr. Jodie Holt, Professor of Plant Physiology, University of California-Riverside

10:00 a.m.

Combating the problem: Australia’s experience with herbicide resistance

Dr. Stephen Powles, Professor of Weed Science, University of Western Australia

10:30 a.m.


11:00 a.m.

Addressing the pressing problem of herbicide resistance

Dr. Harold Coble, Agronomist, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service

11:30 a.m.

Best management practices to control and combat resistance

Dr. David Shaw, Vice President for Research and Economic Development, Mississippi State University

12:00 p.m.


1:15 p.m.

The impediments to using best management practices

Moderator: Mr. Ken Root, Farm Broadcaster, Iowa

Panel: Ms. Carol Arflin, Vice President, Bank of Dooly

Mr. Ben Barstow, Past-President, Washington Association of Wheat Growers

Mr. Chuck Farr, Crop Consultant

Mr. Dave Miller, Director of Research and Commodity Services, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation

Dr. Dale Shaner, Plant Physiologist, USDA Agricultural Research Service

2:45 p.m.

A social science perspective on weed management practices

Dr. George Frisvold, Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Extension Specialist, University of Arizona

3:15 p.m.


3:30 p.m.

What approaches are most likely to encourage the adoption of best management practices?

Moderator: Dr. Kitty Smith, Vice President of Programs & Chief Economist, American Farmland Trust

Panel: Dr. Tom Green, President, AgFlex, Inc.

Dr. John Hamer, Venture Partner, Burrill & Company

Dr. Stephen Powles, Professor of Weed Science, University of Western Australia

Dr. John Soteres, Chair, Herbicide Resistance Action Committee

Dr. Paul Thompson, W. K. Kellogg Chair in Agricultural, Food and Community Ethics, Michigan State University

5:00 p.m.

Closing address

Dr. Steven Leath, President, Iowa State University

5:30 p.m.