Bayer CropScience has launched its third annual Young Farmer Sustainability Award. This award recognizes a grower 40 years or under that demonstrates sustainability on his or her farm. The 2013 award will be selected by a group of industry experts and Bayer leaders, and will be awarded in February at the 2013 Ag Issues Forum held in conjunction with Commodity Classic in Orlando, Fla.

The 2011 and 2012 winners were Ryan Kirby of Belcher, La., and John Shepard of Blackstone, Va., respectively. You can learn more about Ryan and John on the Sustainability Award page on our website in the “Past Winners” section.

The deadline to apply by a grower for excelling in the areas of economic, environmental and innovative practices on the farm is January 24, 2013. AgProfessionals dealing with farmers are requested to seek out farmers that qualify for the award and encourage them to enter the award program.   

In addition to the trip to Florida and the Commodity Classic, he or she will win a new laptop computer and an all-expense paid trip to a Farm Journal learning event during 2013.

Learn more: