The American Bankers Association has formed an Agricultural Credit Task Force, a diverse team of bankers who will work to identify legislative opportunities in the 21st century agricultural credit market. The task force held its first meeting in Lincoln, Neb., at the Nebraska Bankers Association headquarters on Sept. 17.

Made up of CEOs and senior executives from community, regional and large banks, the task force will assist ABA with tackling policies that hinder the banking industry’s ability to serve farmers and ranchers. The main topic of discussion at the first meeting was the Farm Credit System and its unfair advantages as the only government sponsored enterprise with direct retail lending authority, the ABA announced.

Matt Williams, president, chairman and CEO of Gothenburg State Bank in Gothenburg, Neb., is the task force chairman.

“Banks have provided credit to farmers and ranchers since the founding of our country, and we want to continue our mission as the most reliable, most innovative lenders to agriculture,” said Williams, who is also chairman of ABA. “We want policies and regulations in place that will prevent banks from being disadvantaged in the agricultural credit marketplace.”

The seven banks and three state associations participating in the group are:

  • Chair: Matt Williams, ABA chairman, president, chairman and CEO, Gothenburg State Bank, Gothenburg, Neb.
  • Fred Bruning, president, Bruning State Bank, Bruning, Neb.
  • Steve Daggett, president and CEO, Midwest Bank, Detroit Lakes, Minn.
  • Kreg Denton, senior vice president, First Community Bank, Fancy Farm, Ky.
  • Curt Covington, senior vice president and senior risk manager, Bank of the West, Fresno, Calif.
  • Kim Greenland, market president, Great Western Bank, Mount Ayr, Iowa
  • Leonard Wolfe, president, United Bank and Trust, Marysville, Kan.
  • George Beattie, president and CEO, Nebraska Bankers Association, Lincoln, Neb. 
  • Curt Everson, president, South Dakota Bankers Association, Pierre, S.D.
  • Joe Witt, president and CEO, Minnesota Bankers Association, Eden Prairie, Minn.

You can learn more about the American Bankers Association at